About Kitasato University School of Medicine

Kitasato University School of Medicine (KUSM) was founded in 1970 as the first Japanese medical school built after World War II. Established in the wake of the student uprising that took place in Japanese universities at the end of the 1960s, KUSM introduced an innovative educational system that was a radical restructuring of the traditional medical school curriculum. This novel method combining general medical education, collaborative research, and patient care came to be known as the Kitasato System, and it had a strong influence on other academic institutions in Japan during the 1970s.
KUSM has 13 academic units in Basic Medical Sciences and 28 in Clinical Medical Sciences:
Basic Medical Sciences
  • Anatomy
  • Physiology
  • Biochemistry
  • Molecular Genetics
  • Pharmacology
  • Pathology
  • Immunology
  • Microbiology
  • Parasitology
  • Hygiene
  • Public Health
  • Legal Medicine
  • Laboratory Animal Science
Clinical Medical Sciences
  • Gastroenterology
  • Cardiovascular Medicine
  • Neurology
  • Hematology
  • Respiratory Medicine
  • Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism
  • Nephrology
  • Rheumatology and Infectious Diseases
  • Surgery
  • Cardiovascular Surgery
  • Thoracic Surgery
  • Neurosurgery
  • Pediatrics
  • Obstetrics and Gynecology
  • Orthopedic Surgery
  • Plastic and Aesthetic Surgery
  • Dermatology
  • Urology
  • Ophthalmology
  • Otorhinolaryngology - Head and Neck Surgery
  • Psychiatry
  • Diagnostic Radiology
  • Radiation Oncology
  • Anesthesiology
  • Laboratory Medicine
  • Transfusion and Cell Transplantation
  • Emergency and Critical Care Medicine
  • General Medicine

About Kitasato University

Kitasato University was founded in 1962 to commemorate the 50th anniversary of The Kitasato Institute. The University initially consisted of one school and two departments, but now it comprises seven graduate schools, seven undergraduate schools, one college, three affiliated research institutes, and three hospitals.
Graduate Schools
  • Pharmaceutical Sciences
  • Veterinary Medicine and Animal Sciences
  • Marine Biosciences
  • Nursing
  • Science
  • Medical Sciences
  • Infection Control Sciences
Undergraduate Schools
  • Pharmacy
  • Veterinary Medicine
  • Medicine
  • Marine Biosciences
  • Nursing
  • Science
  • Allied Health Sciences
College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Research Institutes
  • Omura Satoshi Memorial Institute
  • Oriental Medicine Research Center
  • Research Center for Clinical Pharmacology
  • Kitasato University Hospital
  • Kitasato University Kitasato Institute Hospital
  • Kitasato University Medical Center
Kitasato University has six campuses spread throughout Japan:
- Shirokane Campus in Tokyo
- Sagamihara Campus in Kanagawa
- Kitamoto Campus in Saitama
- Towada Campus in Aomori
- Sanriku Campus in Iwate
- Niigata Campus in Niigata
The University has its headquarters in Shirokane where the School of Pharmaceutical Sciences is based, but the major educational facility is located in Sagamihara. The Sagamihara Campus is home to the School of Medicine, the School of Nursing, the School of Science, the School of Allied Health Sciences, the Center of Liberal Arts and Sciences, and Kitasato University Hospital.

About The Kitasato Institute

The present Kitasato Institute was established in 2008 through the integration of the former Kitasato Institute and Kitasato University. It was originally founded in 1914 by Dr Shibasaburo Kitasato as Japan's first private medical research facility. Together with Germany's Robert Koch Institute and France's Pasteur Institute, The Kitasato Institute has become one of the world's top microbiology institutes. Headquartered in Shirokane, Tokyo where it was founded, the Institute administers Kitasato University as well as two vocational schools and two affiliated institutions. As Japan's only academic organisation to possess facilities for vaccine production, the Institute contributes to the eradication of infectious diseases and the improvement of public health.

the kitasato institute

About Shibasaburo Kitasato

sibasaburo kitasato

Dr Shibasaburo Kitasato (1853-1931) was a pioneering microbiologist whose research paved the way for numerous advances in preventive medicine, especially in the field of immunology. He was the first to successfully cultivate tetanus bacilli and develop the serum therapy to treat that disease. He also discovered the bacterium that causes bubonic plague.
1853 Born on 29 January in present-day Oguni, Kumamoto
1871 Enters Kumamoto Medical School and studies under Dr C. G. Mansvelt
1883 Graduates from the Faculty of Medicine of The University of Tokyo, and assumes a post at the Ministry of Home Affairs
1885 Departs to study in Germany by order of the Japanese government
1886 Studies bacteriology under Dr Robert Koch, the discoverer of tuberculosis bacilli, in Koch's laboratory at the University of Berlin
1889 Succeeds in producing a pure culture of tetanus bacilli
1890 Discovers antitoxic immunity against tetanus which leads to the development of serum therapy
1892 Returns from Germany and establishes the Institute for Infectious Diseases
1893 Establishes Tsukushigaoka Yojoen, the first tuberculosis hospital in Japan
1894 Is dispatched to Hong Kong, where he discovers the bubonic plague bacillus
1901 Is nominated for the first Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine
1914 Founds The Kitasato Institute for Infectious Diseases
1917 Establishes the School of Medicine of Keio University and serves as its dean
1923 Officially founds the Japan Medical Association
1931 Passes away on 13 June at his home in Azabu, Tokyo at the age of 78